Open Accessibility Menu

Shasta Regional Medical Center Awarded Joint Replacement Certification from the Joint Commission

  • Posted On:

Redding, CA., January 3, 2018- Shasta Regional Medical Center announced today that it has earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval® for Hip and Knee Replacement Certification. The Gold Seal of Approval is a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to providing safe and effective patient care.

Shasta Regional Medical Center underwent a rigorous on-site review in October last year Joint Commission experts evaluated compliance with national disease-specific care standards as well as with joint replacement-specific requirements. Clinical practice guidelines and performance measures also were assessed.

The Joint Commission’s Disease-Specific Care Certification was established in 2002 and is awarded for a two-year period. The certification evaluates clinical programs across the continuum of care and addresses three core areas:

  • Compliance with consensus-based national standards;
  • Effective use of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines to manage and optimize care; and
  • An organized approach to performance measurement and improvement activities.

"Shasta Regional has thoroughly demonstrated a high level of care for patients with joint replacement needs,” said Patrick Phelan, executive director, Hospital Business Development, The Joint Commission. “We commend Shasta Regional Medical Center for becoming a leader in joint replacement care, potentially providing a higher standard of service for hip and knee joint replacement patients in the Redding community.”

"Shasta Regional is exceptionally pleased to receive our Certification from The Joint Commission. This achievement is due to the dedication of talented physicians and hospital staff members involved in our hip and knee joint replacement program to the provision of quality care for those in our community” added Richard Fletcher, CEO, Shasta Regional Medical Center.


The Joint Commission

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

About Shasta Regional Medical Center

Shasta Regional Medical Center is a 226-bed acute care, medical, surgical and behavioral health facility with a full range of ancillary services. Recognized as a “100 Top Hospital” in the nation three years in row (2013-2015) and a “50 Top Cardiovascular Hospital” two years (2013 & 2015), we were the region’s first Joint Commission certified Comprehensive Stroke Center and the first hospital in California to be Joint Commission certified as an Advanced Inpatient Diabetes Care Center, a recognized leader in the most advanced diabetes care. Serving far Northern California since 1945, Shasta Regional has a team of 900 dedicated employees, working alongside more than 350 physicians and 75 volunteers. For more information, please visit